Auto Racing
Results | Standings | Schedule | Drivers | Series:

Column: Scott Dixon a fitting champ as IndyCar grieves

(AP Photo/Eric Risberg)

SONOMA, California (AP) With a dominating drive on a day worth double points, Scott Dixon once again proved he is one of the greatest IndyCar drivers in open-wheel history.

The New Zealander overcame long odds to grab his fourth championship by winning the season finale at Sonoma Raceway. The victory pulled him from third in the standings into a tie with Juan Pablo Montoya, with the title going to Dixon on a tiebreaker.

In many ways, it was a fitting win for the driver known as "The Iceman."


IndyCar Leaders: Points
1 S.Dixon 556 3
2 J.Montoya 556 2
3 W.Power 493 1
4 G.Rahal 490 2
5 H.Castroneves 453 0
6 R.Hunter-Reay 436 2
7 J.Newgarden 431 2
8 T.Kanaan 431 0
9 M.Andretti 429 0
10 S.Bourdais 406 2
View Full Leaderboard

w12 © 2015 by STATS LLC and Associated Press.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC and Associated Press is strictly prohibited.